Joe Bonamassa: Live From The Royal Albert Hall – DVD Review & Giveaway

Congratulations to Marcel L and John G. They have both won a copy of Joe’s DVD. You’re gonna love it! Thanks to everyone who entered…

I vividly recall my first audible memory being the song “Hideaway” from John Mayall and the Blues Breakers 1966 LP (commonly known as the Beano album) with Eric Clapton. Over the course of time that record along with Clapton’s influential and extraordinary playing is reflected upon by so many musicians and fans as a major influence in their love of music. Joe Bonamassa is one of those guys inspired by Clapton’s playing. And he also notes his father’s copy of Cream’s Farewell video and Clapton’s performance from that footage as a mesmerizing and defining moment in his career… So imagine the feeling Joe must have had when on May 4th,2009 he headlines a sold-out show at The Royal Albert Hall and gets to perform with his idol?

Born on Robert Johnson’s birthday on May 8th, 1977 in Utica, New York, Bonamassa began playing guitar at age five on a short-scale Chiquita given to him by his father. Graduating to a full scale guitar, he began mastering Stevie Ray Vaughan licks. At 11 years of age, he was mentored by Danny Gatton; learning country, jazz as well as heavy rock. And at the age of 12 he opened for blues legend B.B. King and officially began his professional career.

This Past Weekend

I finally got the opportunity to watch Joe’s Live From The Royal Albert Hall DVD. My 14 year old son insisted on watching with me, and he was anticipating his cue to crank the volume the second he heard his favorite Bonamassa number “The Ballad of John Henry.” My son’s keenness shows not only is Bonamassa gaining the respect from the more seasoned music listener, but is also generating a new segment of younger music fans that appreciate his masterful touch.

Watching the intro “The Road To The Royal Albert Hall” setup what was ahead, we both felt this overwhelming sense of enthusiasm and pride as Joe started to play the elegant and harmonious “Django,” while walking on stage to a sold out crowd of close to 5000 people… This is more than just a concert video; it’s the realization of a life long dream after 20 years of dedication and hard work. And the DVD captures that moment in time beautifully.

Disc #1 — Joe Bonamassa: Live From the Royal Albert Hall

1. The Road to the Royal Albert Hall [2:38]
2. Django [3:28]
3. The Ballad of John Henry [6:47]
4. So It’s Like That [2:54]
5. Last Kiss [7:18]
6. So Many Roads [6:20]
7. Stop! [5:42]
8. Introducing Eric Clapton [1:18]
9. Further On Up the Road [5:38]
10. High Water Everywhere [5:07]
11. Sloe Gin [8:22]
12. Intermission [:22]

Disc #2 — Joe Bonamassa: Live From the Royal Albert Hall

1. I First Met B.B. King [1:22]
2. Lonesome Road Blues [4:35]
3. Happier Times [6:51]
4. Introducing Paul Jones [:59]
5. Your Funeral My Trial [4:16]
6. Blues Deluxe [9:16]
7. Story of a Quarryman [5:16]
8. The Great Flood [8:04]
9. Just Got Paid [11:26]
10. Mountain Time [10:53]
11. Asking Around for You [11:06]
12. Credits [1:14]

More than a dozen cameras focusing on all possible angles are perfectly timed with broad shots of the stage and hall, helping give you the sensation of being there. But be forewarned, the results may make your heart skip a couple of beats.

There are so many great songs and moments on Live From The Royal Albert Hall that’s its impossible to go through them all in one blog post. Whether it’s Sloe Gin, Stop, Blues Deluxe or Mountain Time, the highlights here are many. Everyone who views the DVD is going to have their personal favorites. For me, I love the opening segments on both discs, the bonus features, and of course the introduction of Eric Clapton to perform “Further On Up The Road” (the first song Joe learned to play) is first rate.

Bonamassa & his band’s performance here is absolutely fantastic. The addition of veteran drummer Anton Fig together with a horn section adds a dimension that takes the music to a cool new level. Still only 32 years of age, Bonamassa shares his gift with an adoring touch along with a knowledge and respect for many of the great blues/rock artists before him.

Musicians

Guitar and Vocals
Joe Bonamassa

Keyboards, Tambourine and Backing Vocal
Rick Melick

Bass Guitar
Carmine Rojas

Drums
Bogie Bowles and Anton Fig

Brass Arrangement and Trumpet
Lee Thornburg

Saxophone
Sean Freeman

Trombone
Mike Feitham
(Photo by: Christy Goodwin)

Bonus Features Include

an interview with Joe shot on his tour bus. Bonamassa talks about several of the songs he performed on the DVD and plays segments from them that help enhance the story of their initial creation. He also includes the bonus acoustic number, “Woke Up Dreaming.”

It’s difficult for anyone who appreciates music in general not to be impressed here. Bonamassa’s whole team deserves a lot of credit for putting together a first class DVD package. This isn’t something stuffed into a cardboard box. It’s a well thought out project with a great graphic layout complete with a 28 page insert.

I enjoyed this DVD in a big way. This is a magical event taking things to a level of mystical proportions that defines the stuff dreams are truly made of. This is a definite must own for anyone looking to be swept away in a solid dose of positive and entertaining energy.

If you’re looking for the latest tour schedule or any further information regarding Joe Bonamassa, you can go to Joe’s website by clicking here. Given the opportunity you will not want to miss Bonamassa and his band perform when they come to your area.
—————————————————————————————————–

Want To Win A Copy Joe Bonamassa’s Latest DVD?

I’m giving all email subscribers of The Blues Blogger anywhere in the world the opportunity to win 2 possible copies of Joe’s DVD “Live From The Royal Albert Hall” in yet another giveaway…

The Rules Are Simple

You will need to subscribe to my e-mail list at the top of the page where it says “Receive Updates by Email.” Enter your email address and press click here. When you submit the form, you will receive a verification message in your in-box. Once you respond to this message you are subscribed. That’s it! I promise no spam and you can always unsubscribe at anytime… All current Blues Blogger subscribers are automatically entered. This random prize giveaway will end November 30th, 2009 at 11:00 pm eastern time in the U.S. When the winners are notified, they’ll have 24 hours to respond or a new name will be drawn.

How familiar are you with Joe Bonamassa’s work? Have you ever been fortunate enough to see him perform live? Is there a favorite album in particular that you enjoy? As usual I love hearing from you. If you leave a valid comment regarding Joe and his band, the DVD or anything about his work over the past 20 years, I will give you an extra 2 entries into the random draw for a total of 3 possible ballots.

Good Luck and Let’s Hear From You,

The Blues Blogger

Tags: , , , ,

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

42 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jess
14 years ago

Fantastic guitarist!!

Thank you for the post!

Beadmonger
Beadmonger
14 years ago

This was one of my favorites! I am so impressed with Joe Bonamassa’s story. His determination and dedication is inspiring!! Great job !!!!!

Naoise
Naoise
14 years ago

I only discovered Joe Bonamassa today through a friend but I already know I love! This is going on my Christmas wishlist!

RJWoiln
RJWoiln
14 years ago

If you like the blues, or music at all, you need to listen to this performance!
It is unbelievable to me how one person can have so much talent.

Dale
Dale
14 years ago

Blues Blogger: Once again you have posted an outstanding article along with videos of the finest Blues Man on the planet. To those that disagree with this statement I say stand by because Mr Joe Bonamassa is just 32 years old. He has another 50 years to improve if you believe that is necessary to be viewed as the best there is. I dam near cried when looking at at Joe’s websie on the 12th of this month and found that he was here in the northwest the night before. BluesBlogger ,thanks brother for all your hard work that you do to bring us the history of music and the people that have made it great and are still doing so. Keep up the good work my friend, We appreciate you and what you do.

Phyllis Satterfield
Phyllis Satterfield
14 years ago

this is so marvelous– Thank you :))

Tim Null
14 years ago

Totally cool!!! :)))

Tess
Tess
14 years ago

only one word comes to mind~~AWESOME!!!!!

Johnsim
Johnsim
14 years ago

Once again, BB has brought a great musician into my world. Thanks!!

queenofcoquitlam (Glenys)
queenofcoquitlam (Glenys)
14 years ago

WOW WOW you have done it AGAIN!!!! EXCELLENT!!!!

Mottvillemama
14 years ago

Totally excellent
Joe Bonamassa is one of the best….my favorite song by him is The River… I just love dem blues

ron
ron
14 years ago

perfect christmas gift to myself

Marcel Lemieux/starflight

I am stunned…outstanding musician…never heard of him..love his style and life energy..he sure has worked hard to get where he is…bravo to him..and thank you for that awesome intro….now i got to get his album…

Cee
Cee
14 years ago

My husband is a huge fan. I’ve seen him play twice, while my husband, father, and brother-in-law have all seen him several times. My husband has several CDs and DVDs, and is just getting our toddler into his music 😉

The second time we saw him live, it was part of Lighting 100’s series at 3rd and Lindsley in Nashville, sharing the bill with Sonny Landreth. A great concert, and perhaps only 20 or so people in attendance. My husband was drooling over his guitars 🙂 I think the first time was BB King’s, but it’s been awhile … always a GREAT show!

Marilyn
Marilyn
14 years ago

Just had the pleasure of seeing Joe in Chicago on Oct. 24th. What a talented young man he is! The guitar playing is obviously top shelf – but I absolutely love his voice, as well. And what a surprise to see him use the theramin! The show was at the Vic Theatre. Although it’s not the nicest place I’ve been, it did provide a perfect intimate setting for Joe’s concert – just the way I love it! My only complaint was that I missed his session with Warren Haynes after the concert, as we went to Buddy Guy’s club. That’s my own fault – but unfortunately I couldn’t go to both concerts at the same time! Buddy Guy’s is always a treat, though! Love ya Joe B & The Blues Blogger!

Ron
Ron
14 years ago

Joe is excellent – been on Jools a few times and certainly in the tradition of great Blues technicians. I would love to see him live. This DVD will go on my Christmas list – thanks for the considered post

Angela Jacobs
Angela Jacobs
14 years ago

Not familiar but it sounds like “my kind of music”

Susan
14 years ago

I don’t remember which one of your posts I read that lead me to Joe Bonamassa, but I saw a YouTube video of him and flipped out. My all-time favorite is Eric Clapton, but he shot right up there.

Thanks for posting this. I bought the DVD immediately.

Alan Eisenberg
Alan Eisenberg
14 years ago

There are 3 music blogs I subscribe to , each different and each imparting different views of the wonder of music. I first came across TBB on Stumble Upon and have been a loyal “follower” since then. This along with his other posts is a living , breathing “zen is when”for me.I so appreciate his focus on Joe, who is ,IMHO, a modern Mozart of the blues. He gives more depth to this musician then that pop magazine that caters to the 18- 24y.o. bracket (has “world”in it) so that when I read about Joe I come away being enriched and not just entertained.Ok , we’re all in the contest and congrats to who ever wins, but the bigger picture is we all win with a fine blog like this.

Guitar Players Center
14 years ago

Excellent post. Bonamassa is destined to be one of the greats. We saw him in concert a few years ago. Blew us away.

TJ
TJ
14 years ago

Impressive staging…really some sound they got on this…

Dan Flowers
14 years ago

I’ve been watching Joe for years… what a master at his craft, not just in his technical ability, but in the soul behind the notes… what a thrill it is to hear him play.

mac
mac
14 years ago

I saw Joe on a Blues Cruise about 8 years ago and he blew me away. I just saw him in Minneapolis at the Gutherie , Nov 2009, and he is even better. What a show 3 encores and a great night of the Blues/Rock. If you have not seen him go it is well worth the price.
Keep on rockin in the Free World!
Mac

Sandy
Sandy
14 years ago

I was one of those lucky enough to be at this show, and I had excellent seats. This video is almost as good as being there. Joe is a master of his craft, and at this show he was at full peak – a night not to be forgotten. I have seen Joe at least 15 times and I never tire of watching and listening to him – he just keeps getting better and better. Joe is at his best live, and this video is the perfect way to experience him. My next show isn’t until April – it’s gonna be a long winter,

Bluesemotion
14 years ago

Stunning …outstanding musician…love his style and life energy..….I’ve listened to his live concerts on You tube and enjoyed

uglyjoefish
uglyjoefish
14 years ago

Joe Bonamassa is the best live act i have ever seen,When he is over here in the UK i never miss him,every one should go see him,The first time i saw him was in Southport in front of 40 people now hes playing the Royal Albert Hall,thats how good he is

Karen Gonyea
Karen Gonyea
14 years ago

Great Site 🙂

Hermitbiker
Hermitbiker
14 years ago

Seems I have heard of Joe Bonamassa… most likely when he was 1st introduced as a “child prodigy”… then again from time to time when people would bring him to my attention again!! It was almost like re-discovering this fantastic blues talent for the very 1st time… every time I heard him!! Another outstanding tribute to Joe Bonamassa… his life and times… while he himself… becomes a blues guitar legend!! From the best review anywhere… “The Blues Blogger’s Jazz & Blues Review Blog” aka. “The Blues Blogger” !!

Ken Robinson
Ken Robinson
14 years ago

Good blues singers and guitarists should be cherished. Please accept my entry. Thank you.

melinda smith
melinda smith
14 years ago

This guy is great.Nice,raspy voice. I love his enthusiasm.

Gabrielle
Gabrielle
14 years ago

OMG….where to begin! Between fave tunes?! loooong laundry list(it’s a shorty list!) of those but humm yeah, first tune ever heard was Sloe Gin from Blues Deluxe…boi is that an understatement!!! The man bends em sahweeet!!!

more fave trks: My Mistake / Lie #1 ~ So It’s Like That
Burning Hell / Long Distance Blues ~ Blues Deluxe
Stepping Out/Rice Pudding / I Know Where I Belong / If Heartaches Were Nickels ~ A New Day Yesterday Live
Stop / Lonesome Road Blues / Last Kiss ~ The Ballad Of John Henry

Recently caught concert in Mpls …..n huzzzzuhs!!! The man has class n style presence on stage….his voice is jus smexays!!
The other thing I admire of him is that he’s had some very talented upcoming guita players join him on stage as well…first one that totally rawwked me sox was Chantel McGregor Joanne Shaw Taylor from UK…omg!!! Tippers to Joe for those kinda treats….someone betta scarf that chicka up!

So….being imma sooo hooked on rawken blues tuneage n artists…purchasing every CD his thus far is a Treasured collection to listen to over n over n yup….I’d go see him in concert in a NYsecond ne time!!!

Joanne Conklin
14 years ago

I’m not worthy! *bowing*

DrHool
DrHool
14 years ago

Great post!

Joe’s one of my favourite bluesrock artists. I first heard his “Takin’ The Hit” on internet radio – and that got me. Great voice, phenomenal guitar playing – hit it!!

Gianna
Gianna
14 years ago

I’ve never listened to him.. From what i’ve read it looks like i’m missing out! Please enter me to win 🙂

Dmac4658
Dmac4658
14 years ago

Joe has become a healthy addiction for me. I learned of him a couple years ago and saw him twice- Berklee College in Boston and at Hampton Beach in NH. I’ll be at the Wilbur Theatre in April to see the new tour. The clarity of his playing is mind boggling to me. I can’t wait to pick up the new album in March and also see the Black Country project when it arrives. There is a new god of guitarists, people, and his name is Joe Bonamassa.

Dock
Dock
14 years ago

Some months ago I was sharing some thoughts with a friend about the new Robin Trower CD when said He had found a new guy name Joe Bonamassa . And I fell in love with him ,his style remines me of early Trower . His live show gave me goose bumps allover my body ,I been waiting for someone like Joe for 25 years . I will see him live if it’s the last thing I do . Great Job “JOE”… Dock

Blues Guitar Licks
13 years ago

Joe is nothing less than amazing. He’s one of these guys that you can’t help wondering why he’s not a household name.

Joe’s guitar tone is dead on and his vocals do nothing but compliment a perfect match. Funny, I think Joe is one of those guys that just looks right playing a Les Paul. It just fits – and he seems to make it sound like a good fit too.

Keep it coming Joe.

Good to hear from you. Shoot me a note when you get a chance.

Jerry
LearnGuitarFastAndEasy.com

Ihsane
Ihsane
13 years ago

I just found out about this amazing guitarist today through KERA.
HOLY GUAC! WHERE DID THIS GUY CAME FROM?
BOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Juan
13 years ago

I was in a major music/electronics store near my home and”Story of a quarryman was playing on a display unit….I was mesmerised. I went and bought the dvd straight away and I played it the moment I got home. well lets just say since that day it gets played at least once a week. Joe you have shown what dedication and love for something can pay off with outstanding results. Even my lovely partner who loves her dance and rnb, plays it at least once a fortnight whilst she cooks dinner. Awesome Dvd and well put together which makes it all the more worthwhile owning it.

Erik Lamberth
11 years ago

Great blues player and talent. Even more, he has brought blues back into the limelight and is rejuvenating national exposure for this art form which seems to have enduring appeal for multiple generations. Great job!

Pat Govender
Pat Govender
11 years ago

Watched Joe play at the Crossroads festival and was amazed by his playing style, he’s great, always watch him on youtube and tell all my buddies about joe.
Come to South Africa, so i can watch u live.

mottvillemama
mottvillemama
11 years ago

I am finally going to see him in Nov. 2012. He’s playing in Fort Wayne, Indiana.
I am so excited!